ServeNext.org Blog

Announcing Fight the Zero event in DC to Save AmeriCorps

Posted by Zach Maurin on October 14, 2011

Check out this message and get involved!


My name is Morgan and I am a ServeNext intern.  I am also an AmeriCorps alumnus.   I’m writing because I’m frustrated, but I’m doing something about it…

When I graduated from college two years ago I didn’t have a job, but I had the desire to serve. I joined AmeriCorps with Oregon Campus compact and it changed my life.  I was able to gain tremendous skills and experience, while also building the capacity of a university to help thousands of college students go into their community and volunteer in classrooms, serve at food banks and build houses.

However, experiences like mine and the impact it made could disappear.  The nearly 100,000 jobs that AmeriCorps creates are on the chopping block.  I’m writing because we’re doing something about it in Washington, DC.  I’m hoping you can join me.

It’s called Fight the Zero.  We’re using that name because that’s literally what’s at stake: leaders in the House of Representatives have proposed $0 next year for AmeriCorps.  With 20% unemployment among young adults and AmeriCorps receiving 536,000 applicants last year, this makes no sense.  With communities in need of services provided by these positions, cuts are unacceptable.

On November 3 we’re organizing a rally – but it’s not your typical rally.  Instead of convening in one place, our goal is 200+ people in many locations on Capitol Hill and around the White House.  The idea is that our nation’s decision makers and the media won’t be able to miss the demand for AmeriCorps funding.

If you’re ready to go, you can register now.

If you want to learn more, we’re hosting two conference calls on Tuesday, October 18 at 11:30AM and 8:00PM.  Please RSVP here.

While ServeNext is helping with this event, it’s volunteer led.  We need more help to make it a huge success.  And personally, I’m a grad student so I’d appreciate your help so I don’t fail my classes!  But in all seriousness, with AmeriCorps’ future in doubt, I simply had to step forward and take action.

I hope you’ll join me and Fight the Zero.

Thanks,

Morgan

PS – please forward this to anyone in the DC area you think would like to learn more.

2 Responses to “Announcing Fight the Zero event in DC to Save AmeriCorps”

  1. […] Announcing Fight the Zero event in DC to Save AmeriCorps From the ServeNext.org Blog Advertisement Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed OM in the News: Water as a Sustainability Issue Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailStumbleUponDiggPrintRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. Another thing I have really noticed is the fact for many people, less-than-perfect credit is
    the reaction to circumstances over and above their control.
    For instance they may have already been saddled with an illness and as a consequence they have higher bills going to collections.
    It could be due to a employment loss or even the inability to do the job.
    Sometimes divorce or separation can really send the financial
    circumstances in an opposite direction. Thanks sharing your thinking on this blog site.

Leave a Reply

 
